Album Review: Seungri’s Let’s Talk About Love


Another lovely review form The Crispy Scallion.

,usehriwuj

As a huge Big Bang fan, I tend to look forward to their solo activities. So far, I have never been disappointed. I mean, how can you be disappointed with great works like Solar, Heartbreaker, GD & TOP Vol. 1, One of a Kind, etc.?

To be honest Seungri is not my most favorite member. Don’t get me wrong. I do like him a lot. I don’t think Big Bang would be complete without him. No one does the exasperating maknae act better than him. But vocally, he’s always been a so-so for me. He sounds good in certain songs (Blue is the best by far) and alright in others. His first solo album was thoroughly enjoyable – much more than I expected.

So how did his second album fare? Has he improved?

 

 

1. Let’s Talk About Love (feat. G-Dragon & Taeyang)

I admit I was really looking forward to this song when it was first revealed – only because of GDYB. So when I finally listened to the song, I felt a little disoriented and bewildered. When I heard the song for the first time, I thought it was all over the place. The repetitive “Let’s talk about love” felt stilted and boring. There was no punch to it, despite it being the title of the album itself.

But after listening to it multiple times, I’m getting hooked on this song. The beat is clean and infectious, with enough energy to make you want to groove. It’s an eclectic mix of different elements that makes it so interesting and addictive. It’s the kind of song that you’ll find yourself liking without really understanding why. Plus the lyrics are rather refreshingly naughty (something which I didn’t quite expect).

GD is on point as always with his rap – it’s precise and snappy. But it’s Taeyang that I want to talk about. Most of us know that he started off as a rapper before deciding to become a vocalist. While he doesn’t possess the swag and flair that GD has or the suaveness that TOP exudes, he’s above alright when he raps. So listening to him spewing those lines in that insanely sexy low voice was enough to excite me.

If anything I could say about this song is that I feel Seungri was overshadowed by GD and Taeyang. All 3 of them sound really good but it’s just that GD and Taeyang came across a little stronger than Seungri.

 

2. Gotta Talk To U

Despite this being the title track for the album, I’m not overly crazy about it. It has the same overtones and rhythm like Blue but lack the build-up. A rather subdued and subtle track for me. It showcases Seungri’s vocals very well but it’s not something I’d spend a lot of time listening to.

 

3. GG Be (feat. Jenny Kim)

I loved this song almost immediately even before I finished listening to it. It’s a playful, snappy number that is absolutely entertaining. It has a nice retro feel to it and the melody is just gorgeous. Very catchy and addictive.

As for Jenny Kim’s part – I’m divided. I don’t really understand why she gets so much accolade for her talent. Maybe it has something to do with her being the leader of the yet-to-debut group. But honestly, I feel her vocals are just average. So is her rap. Kim Jisoo who featured on GD’s album has way better vocals.

 

4. Come To My

I quite liked this song as it’s very easy to listen to. It’s uncomplicated and clean with lively chorus. I can almost imagine this song being part of a drama/movie. The Seunglish is pretty evident in this song – adorably so J

 

5. You Hoo!

This is obviously a filler track coz I don’t find anything remotely great about this song. Sounds like a generic club track to me. Something you’d play in the background and forgot about it seconds into the song.

 

6. Love Box

This is such a pretty song that I couldn’t help but liking it. A lot. It’s such a relaxed number but the trumpet line really made it come alive. I think this song showcases Seungri’s voice to the max. He sounds really, really good – a little husky and tender. Definitely one of the stronger tracks of this album.

 

Overall

The maknae has really come a long way since VVIP. With this new album, Seungri sounds so much more matured, confident and sure. The album is solid with superior production quality. And keeping true to YG style, Let’s Talk About Love differs somewhat from VVIP but still it’s very much a Seungri sound. It’s obvious how much he has grown as a singer and a performer.

But what I love the most about this album is that Seungri has found the sound that complements his voice the best. The improvement he’s done is clearly evident in each of the tracks. His vocals are more dynamic and it has grown by leaps and bounds in terms of depth and color.

The album is a joy to listen to and it was definitely worth the long wait.

 

Favorite track: GG Be, Let’s Talk About Love, Love Box

Least Favorite Track: None really

Verdict: 4.5/5.0

-TCS

Leave a Reply

