Album Review: Kang Seung Yoon: Wild And Young


This is yet another installment of our featured guest writers, we humbly present The Crispy Scallion.

  album of that guy

The much anticipated debut of one of YG’s legion of trainees has been rather surprising and interest, to say the least.

Kang Seung Yoon has been much talked about before he even put out a song, due to his participation in the Superstar K2. He didn’t win, nor did he come close to the final but I think that hardly matters right now, does it?

After training and honing his skills in YG for about 2 years or so, he was finally unleashed to the public. Since he released 3 singles back-to-back, I’ll review all of them in one go.

It Rains

I had a mixed feeling when I first heard this song. It reminded me strongly of Indonesian rock ballads. In fact it sounded so familiar; it could almost pass off as a remake. However, as I listen to it more often, I began to appreciate it for what it is – a sound that is truly Kang Seung Yoon.

The song starts off rather mellow but soon built-up in strength. There are undertones of Daughtry and Coldplay in the song but it’s also still uniquely Korean in most parts. And I must say Kang Seung Yoon sounds really good. The years of training has done wonders for him. He doesn’t sound like a rookie at all. That’s how confident he sounds in his delivery.

 

Wild & Young

I know some people felt that this song was too simple and ‘easy’ for Kang Seung Yoon. Especially after It Rains. But this is precisely why I like this song.

This song really proves how versatile and hugely talented Kang Seung Yoon is. And it the song where I can really enjoy his ‘rocker’ voice to the max. His ad-libs add a nice touch to a song that is already addictive. Honestly I feel like jumping up and down or play air drum when I listen to this song. Reminds me of my younger days of listening to Bryan Adams’ Summer of ’69. It’s that good. Plus, my respect for Teddy just went up another notch. I didn’t expect this from Teddy due to his affinity to hip-hop/pop/reggae. But this just proves how talented Teddy is as a producer and composer.

 

Stealer

By the time Kang Seung Yoon released this song, I already knew that it’s gonna be another hit. He sounds even better in this! It Rains was already a gold standard but he proved himself to be beyond that with Stealer.

I love, love the acoustic intro to the song and the chorus is just perfect. I’m quite taken aback with his falsetto – the fact that he could hold it well and crooned it effortlessly. I can’t wait to hear this powerhouse ballad live.

 

Overall

I don’t think the label ‘rookie’ even fits Kang Seung Yoon. I have the same sentiment when Lee Hi debuted but Kang Seung Yoon just blew her out of the water. Kang Seung Yoon sounds, looks and performs like a seasoned veteran. Everything about him screams rock star. And this makes me wonder whether YG should really shove him into a group. He’s already beyond good enough to stand on his own. Apart from Se7en, YG doesn’t have any other male solo artist (solo acts by Big Bang members don’t count). And I really think YG should let Kang Seung Yoon stand on his own instead of boxing him in a group. My two favorite genres are hip-hop and rock, and I’d be the happiest person if YG allows Kang Seung Yoon to remain within the rock genre. It suits him best.

As for the songs, all I can say is that the advantage Kang Seung Yoon had is that whoever wrote/produce his materials for him, knew him inside out. They knew what works best for him and everything has been absolutely on-point. I am now a firm Kang Seung Yoon and I can’t wait to see what else he’ll crank out.

Favorite track: All 3!

Least Favorite Track: None

Verdict: 5.0/5.0

-TCS

One response to “Album Review: Kang Seung Yoon: Wild And Young

Leave a Reply

